Day 8: Minimalism

When I first thought about reducing my time committments, I thought it was a silly endeavor.  I enjoy my life.  Yes, I’m tired and can be grouchy, but isn’t everyone?

I read Dear Busy Person at Northwest Edible Life, and I get it.  I don’t have to be tired.  I don’t have to feel overwhelmed by the dishes in my sink or my undone laundry.

For this week, I’m going to allow myself the freedom of doing nothing.  I won’t feel guilty about sitting on the patio drinking tea because I should be vacuuming.  I will crawl in bed early with my puppy and read a book without having a to-do list running through my head.

Even as I type this out, I know this is going to be difficult for me.  I’ve always been an overachiever.  A varsity athlete through college.  A straight A student.  Every minute of my day is planned.  It’s not something I’m proud of, but I’ve felt it’s necessary to reach my goals and make the most of my day.

Leave a Reply

